Spread the word » Facebook Twitter
RootsAction: Connect. Act. Grow.
An easy major democratic improvement to U.S. elections is within our grasp.

In two of the past six U.S. elections, the candidate with fewer votes became president -- most recently Donald Trump in 2016. In 2020 we were kept in doubt for days as to whether it had happened again. And in every presidential race, candidates are forced to focus their attention on a handful of swing states and ignore the vast majority of voters nationwide.

The time has come to fix the broken Electoral College. And there’s a solution spreading like wildfire: National Popular Vote. Click here to email your state legislators and governor.

Facebook button Donate button Twitter button

If enough states require their electors to vote for the winner of the nationwide popular vote (rather than the state popular vote), it would fix the problems of the Electoral College without needing to amend the Constitution.

The compact won’t take effect until enough states have joined in -- but last year, Colorado, New Mexico, Oregon, and Delaware signed on, and in November 2020 Colorado voters approved. We're now at 15 states plus D.C. and 196 of the needed 270 Electoral College votes.

National Popular Vote is gaining momentum -- and RootsAction is ramping up efforts to get even more states on board.

We're emailing you because your state has not yet put its electoral votes on the right side of this issue. Please click here to email your state legislators and governor. And you might want to report back to us what they tell you they're willing to do.

If your state joins this movement, we'll be very close to never giving the White House to an election loser again.

GRAPHIC: Sign here button

After signing the petition, please use the tools on the next webpage to share it with your friends.

This work is only possible with your financial support. Please chip in $3 now.

-- The RootsAction.org Team

P.S. RootsAction is an independent online force endorsed by Jim Hightower, Barbara Ehrenreich, Cornel West, Daniel Ellsberg, Naomi Klein, Bill Fletcher Jr., Laura Flanders, former U.S. Senator James Abourezk, Frances Fox Piven, Phil Donahue, Sonali Kolhatkar, and many others.


Donate button Facebook button Twitter button