Spread the word » Facebook Twitter

We can still block Haspel!

GRAPHIC: Sign here button

Share this action on Facebook
Share this action on Twitter

Mike Pompeo made it through the Senate to become Secretary of State, but we can stop Gina Haspel. Trump's new cabinet nominees risk putting us on paths to war. They have overseen and support torture, and will continue American support for the Saudi war in Yemen. The Senate must reject Haspel.

Email your senators now and tell them to block Trump's War Cabinet by opposing the nomination of Gina Haspel.

Here's the language that will be sent to the Senate:

Please oppose the nomination of Gina Haspel and otherwise do everything in your power to prevent the advancement of this dangerous nominee. The appointment of John Bolton as National Security Advisor, along with the nominations of Pompeo for Secretary of State and Haspel for Director of the Central Intelligence Agency (CIA), represent an aggressive shift in posture and could well put us on a path to more war -- and war crimes. Haspel’s history of involvement in, and attempts to cover up, torture must be rebuked and is disqualifying.

Click here to email your Senators now.

Trump nominated his current CIA head, Mike Pompeo, to become Secretary of State. Pompeo has historically supported torture, chose torturer Haspel as his deputy at the CIA, and has said that all Muslims are "potentially complicit" in terrorism. The Senate has confirmed him, and already he is beating war drums for a war on Iran.

We need to begin reversing this trend by blocking Haspel. She oversaw torture, and should be prosecuted for that felony. She wrote a cable ordering the destruction of torture videotapes.

She should not be rewarded with a promotion. Allowing that to happen would further normalize torture, murder, and lawlessness.

Take action now.

Please forward this email to everyone you can.

This work is only possible with your financial support. Please chip in $3 now.

-- The RootsAction.org Team

P.S. RootsAction is an independent online force endorsed by Jim Hightower, Barbara Ehrenreich, Cornel West, Daniel Ellsberg, Glenn Greenwald, Naomi Klein, Bill Fletcher Jr., Laura Flanders, former U.S. Senator James Abourezk, Frances Fox Piven, Lila Garrett, Phil Donahue, Sonali Kolhatkar, and many others.



Donate button Facebook button Twitter button