Spread the word » Facebook Twitter

You Can Co-Sign the Restoring Overtime Pay Act. Just Click Here.

GRAPHIC: Sign here button

Share this action on Facebook
Share this action on Twitter

Over the last year, Congress has sat by while Trump failed to protect overtime pay for millions of workers.

Now there's legislation in both houses of Congress to fix this, and you can sign on your support.
Click here.

Here's what happened:

In 2016, the Department of Labor strengthened requirements for employers to pay workers overtime (time and a half pay) when they work more than 40 hours a week. This much-needed update corrected 40 years' worth of economic changes, as overtime regulations have eroded over time to cover only a fraction of the people they were designed to protect.

Unfortunately, powerful business interests attacked this long-overdue update to our overtime rules in court, and the Trump administration decided not to stand up for the rule ― even indicating that they supported rolling it back to a lower standard.

The result will be over a billion dollars in lost potential wages each year, and 12.5 million workers left in limbo with weak overtime protections ― or none at all.

But there’s still hope. Senators Sherrod Brown (D-Oh.) and Patty Murray (D-Wa.) and Representatives Mark Takano (D-Ca.) and Bobby Scott (D-Va.) have introduced the Restoring Overtime Pay Act, which will raise the overtime salary threshold from $23,660 to $48,412 ― increasing overtime protections for 12.5 million working people at the same standard as the 2016 regulation.

Add your name to become a co-signer of the Restoring Overtime Pay Act today!

After signing the act, please use the tools on the next webpage to share it with your friends.

This work is only possible with your financial support. Please chip in $3 now.

-- The RootsAction.org Team

P.S. RootsAction is an independent online force endorsed by Jim Hightower, Barbara Ehrenreich, Cornel West, Daniel Ellsberg, Glenn Greenwald, Naomi Klein, Bill Fletcher Jr., Laura Flanders, former U.S. Senator James Abourezk, Frances Fox Piven, Lila Garrett, Phil Donahue, Sonali Kolhatkar, and many others.



Donate button Facebook button Twitter button