Spread the word » Facebook Twitter

There's a right way and a wrong way to oversee the Nobel Peace Prize.

Right Way

Wrong Way

GRAPHIC: Sign here button

Share this action on Facebook
Share this action on Twitter

Only Supporters of Peace Should Be Appointed to Nobel Peace Prize Committee

A petition to the Norwegian parliament

This month Norwegian parliamentarians will vote on new members for the Nobel Peace Prize committee. It's important that members of the committee be dedicated to Alfred Nobel's vision of peace by peaceful means.

Join these initial signers:
Fredrik S. Heffermehl, Nobel Peace Prize Watch, Norway
Tomas Magnusson, Nobel Peace Prize Watch, Sweden
Richard Falk, professor of law, USA
David Swanson, author, USA
Ann Wright, USA
Kevin Zeese, co-director of Popular Resistance, USA
Margaret Flowers, co-director of Popular Resistance, USA
Medea Benjamin, Code Pink, USA
Jeff Cohen, journalism professor, USA
Mairead Maguire, Nobel peace prize laureate, Ireland
Gar Smith, Environmentalists Against War, USA
Patrick T. Hiller, War Prevention Initiative, USA
Johan Galtung, Norway
Norman Solomon, RootsAction.org, USA
David Hartsough, USA
Maria Santelli, Center on Conscience & War, USA


Petition text:

We ask that you facilitate compliance with Alfred Nobel's legally binding will by selecting a committee dedicated to Nobel´s antimilitarist ideas of peace by co-operation, law, and disarmament. Parliament must abandon its selection routine which has favored Norwegian politicians rather than Nobel´s visionary idea.

We insist that you not include people on the Nobel peace prize committee who will be willing to glorify war criminals like Henry Kissinger who was honored by the current committee last December.

The awarding of the 2017 peace prize to the International Campaign to Abolish Nuclear Weapons was a great improvement over the awards of recent years in terms of compliance with Nobel's will.

It is now incumbent upon you, in the December renewal of the committee, to select members who will continue, as in 2017, to fulfill the purpose for which the prize was created.

The peace prize belongs to the citizens of this world, and you must make sure that people dedicated to Nobel´s peace ideas be in charge of the world´s most important prize. The world´s prosperity and security depend on it.


After signing the petition, please use the tools on the next webpage to share it with your friends.

This work is only possible with your financial support. Please chip in $3 now.

-- The RootsAction.org Team

P.S. RootsAction is an independent online force endorsed by Jim Hightower, Barbara Ehrenreich, Cornel West, Daniel Ellsberg, Glenn Greenwald, Naomi Klein, Bill Fletcher Jr., Laura Flanders, former U.S. Senator James Abourezk, Frances Fox Piven, Lila Garrett, Phil Donahue, Sonali Kolhatkar, and many others.



Donate button Facebook button Twitter button