Spread the word » Facebook Twitter

Tell unions to refuse to build Trump's wall.

GRAPHIC: Sign here button

Share this on Facebook

Share this action on Twitter

Click here to sign the following petition.

Terry O'Sullivan, President, Laborers' International; Sean McGarvey, President, North America's Building Trades Unions; Richard Trumka, President AFL-CIO

Refuse to build Trump's wall!

We, champions of working people, urge leaders and members of North America's Building Trades Unions, Laborers' International, and all labor organizations to refuse to build or design Trump’s 2,000-mile Wall of Hatred on the border between the United States and Mexico.

We ask that unions, which historically fought for the 8-hour day, a sustainable wage, health care and workplace protection, boycott these labor contracts because the wall -- estimated to cost taxpayers 15-40 billion dollars -- will result in pain and suffering for families separated through birth, marriage, and work; undermine diplomacy and trade between US and Mexico; engender ill will between nations and peoples.

Click to add your name.

While we, petitioners, understand a desire to make a living, we also recognize that to use one’s skills to advance racism and xenophobia is to rob workers of their great potential to advance social justice and to continue their legacy of fighting for human rights. Rather than spending billions to construct an unnecessary wall when barriers already exist, we should be investing taxpayer dollars to hire union workers for much-needed infrastructure projects that strengthen our communities: water and sewer pipes; roads; bridges; transit systems.

We ask that all unions and their umbrella organizations instruct their members to boycott work on the wall and to, instead, embrace the racial and cultural diversity of America.

Campaign created by Marcy Winograd.

After signing the petition, please use the tools on the next webpage to share it with your friends.

This work is only possible with your financial support. Please chip in $3 now.

-- The RootsAction.org Team

P.S. RootsAction is an independent online force endorsed by Jim Hightower, Barbara Ehrenreich, Cornel West, Daniel Ellsberg, Glenn Greenwald, Naomi Klein, Bill Fletcher Jr., Laura Flanders, former U.S. Senator James Abourezk, Coleen Rowley, Frances Fox Piven, Lila Garrett, Phil Donahue, Sonali Kolhatkar, and many others.



Donate button Facebook button Twitter button

Click here to unsubscribe and stop ALL email from RootsAction.