We Support James Risen Because We Support a Free Press


The Justice Department is now considering whether to attempt to force New York Times reporter James Risen to testify against one of his alleged sources. If Risen refuses, as he has vowed to, he would likely face harsh fines or imprisonment.

Pentagon Papers whistleblower Daniel Ellsberg says: "The pursuit of Risen is a warning to potential sources that journalists cannot promise them confidentiality for disclosing Executive Branch criminality, recklessness, deception, unconstitutional policies or lying us into war."



Background:
Freedom of the Press Foundation: Court Guts Reporter’s Privilege
Truthout: Conversation With James Risen
Politico: Justice Department Urges SCOTUS to Pass Up Reporter’s Privilege Case
Norman Solomon: An Escalating War on Journalism
Letter to Holder from 46 News Organizations Re: Subpoena to James Risen
Committee to Protect Journalists: U.S. Government Should Withdraw Subpoena

Please join Ellsberg and sign below:

To: President Obama and Attorney General Holder

Your effort to compel
New York Times reporter James Risen to reveal his sources is an assault on freedom of the press. Without confidentiality, journalism would be reduced to official stories -- a situation antithetical to the First Amendment.
We urge you in the strongest terms to halt all legal action against Mr. Risen and to safeguard the freedom of journalists to maintain the confidentiality of their sources.
Optional Member Code


Add me to the following list(s):
  • Join FAIR - Fairness & Accuracy in Reporting (http://fair.org/)
  • Join Freedom of the Press Foundation (https://pressfreedomfoundation.org/)
  • Join The Nation (http://www.thenation.com/)
  • Join The Progressive / Center for Media and Democracy (http://www.progressive.org/)

  • 51-75 of 130179 signatures
    Number Date Name Location Feel free to add your own ...
    130129 Wed Aug 12 22:50:22 EDT 2015 Paula Frighetti Tucson, AZ , US
    130128 Fri Jul 31 01:23:28 EDT 2015 Donald Kokkonen Cambridge, WI , US
    130127 Tue Jul 21 15:48:55 EDT 2015 Catherine Hart Mt. Airy, MD , US
    130126 Mon Jul 20 15:53:39 EDT 2015 Cheryn English EUREKA, CA , US
    130125 Mon Jul 20 15:27:13 EDT 2015 Nadia Gatti Buenso Aires, ot , AR
    130124 Fri Jul 17 14:45:23 EDT 2015 Anonymous IN , US
    130123 Thu Jul 16 00:06:03 EDT 2015 Donald Kokkonen Cambridge, WI , US
    130122 Wed Jul 15 11:51:25 EDT 2015 Nadia Gatti Buenso Aires, ot , AR
    130121 Mon Jul 13 10:07:22 EDT 2015 Nadia Gatti Buenso Aires, ot , AR
    130120 Mon Jul 13 10:07:18 EDT 2015 Nadia Gatti Buenso Aires, ot , AR
    130119 Mon Jul 13 08:53:48 EDT 2015 Nadia Gatti Buenso Aires, ot , AR
    130118 Sat Jul 11 09:43:42 EDT 2015 Alexander Gutierrez San Jose , CA , US
    130117 Thu Jul 09 17:07:06 EDT 2015 Ryan McGrath Seattle, WA , US
    130116 Wed Jul 08 00:54:35 EDT 2015 Donald Kokkonen Cambridge, WI , US
    130115 Fri Jul 03 11:06:44 EDT 2015 Nadia Gatti Buenso Aires, ot , AR
    130114 Wed Jul 01 02:19:17 EDT 2015 Bina Israni South San Francisco, CA , US
    130113 Mon Jun 29 15:20:59 EDT 2015 Edward Carleton Boston, MA , TH
    130112 Sun Jun 21 19:14:31 EDT 2015 bobbi browne Oak Ridge, TN , US
    130111 Fri Jun 19 17:26:38 EDT 2015 E B S, WA , US
    130110 Thu Jun 18 05:16:31 EDT 2015 Karen Neubauer Huntsville, AL , AU
    130109 Tue Jun 16 11:06:27 EDT 2015 Karen Furniss Huntsville, AL , US
    130108 Tue Jun 16 09:58:28 EDT 2015 Igor Vodyanoy Redondo Beach, CA , US
    130107 Mon Jun 15 23:39:42 EDT 2015 Anonymous Redondo Beach, CA , US
    130106 Fri Jun 05 12:33:42 EDT 2015 Tim Dalton Hewitt, NJ , US
    130105 Tue Jun 02 17:07:05 EDT 2015 E B S, WA , US
    <- Prev Next ->

    All fields indicated by a red asterisk (*) are required.  By taking action you will be automatically signed up for action alerts from Roots Action. We consider your contact information to be private and confidential. We will NOT disclose it to any other entity unless you specifically authorize us to do so. You can unsubscribe at the bottom of any email you receive from us.