Don't Koch the L.A. Times!


After years of mismanagement, the Tribune Company newspapers -- including the Chicago Tribune and L.A. Times -- are up for sale.


And one of the potential buyers? The Koch brothers.
Background:
New York Times: Koch Brothers Turning Focus to Newspapers
Chicago Tribune: Protesters Urge Tribune Co. Not to Sell
Free Press: Tribune Joins Rush to Consolidate with TV Deal

Yes, those Koch brothers: the billionaire businessmen who run Koch Industries, a sprawling multinational corporation involved in everything from oil to fertilizer to paper towels to bankrolling right-wing political causes.

Join RootsAction in sending this message to the Tribune Company:

Don't sell out journalism by selling your papers to the Koch brothers. Threats by staff to quit are probably music to their cost-cutting ears. We need you to stand up for journalism by refusing to sell.
Optional Member Code


This petition has a goal of 80000 signatures
1-25 of 68144 signatures
Number Date Name Location Add a note, if you'd like, ...
68144 Thu Oct 02 00:43:18 EDT 2014 Lucas Brown Gaylord, MI , US
68143 Mon Sep 29 23:56:38 EDT 2014 Lucas Brown Gaylord, MI , US
68142 Sat Aug 09 08:58:04 EDT 2014 Damien McLeod Key Largo, FL , US
68141 Tue Jul 29 17:59:41 EDT 2014 Dana Dodd Columbus, GA , US
68140 Mon Jul 14 15:52:57 EDT 2014 Rebecca Farmer Berkeley, CA , US
68139 Tue Jul 01 15:41:57 EDT 2014 Kimberly Wyke Camden, ME ,
68138 Sat Jun 14 19:40:43 EDT 2014 Jackie McNeely-Estes Greensboro, NC ,
68137 Wed May 21 05:18:38 EDT 2014 Elizabeth Smith Portland, ME , US Journalism is supposed to be impartial, not politically slanted. From all I've witnessed in the past few years, you brothers are far from that.
68136 Tue May 20 12:27:12 EDT 2014 Michaelj Seamans Bakersfield, CA , US I do not read main stream news anymore. I learned early on in my life how inaccurate and polarized these services can be and will be if left to the control of economic interests. I am interested only in More....
68135 Wed Apr 09 00:32:30 EDT 2014 Perri Gaffney NY, NY , US
68134 Tue Apr 08 11:12:16 EDT 2014 Debra Wells Cleveland, OH , US
68133 Tue Apr 08 11:12:16 EDT 2014 Debra Wells Cleveland, OH , US
68132 Tue Apr 08 01:19:06 EDT 2014 Perri Gaffney NY, NY , US
68131 Fri Mar 21 01:19:47 EDT 2014 Nara Yim US
68130 Wed Mar 05 22:55:36 EST 2014 S. Jacky Steilacoom, WA , US
68129 Wed Mar 05 18:15:24 EST 2014 l gols
68128 Wed Feb 26 04:39:51 EST 2014 George Govus Snow Camp, NC , US
68127 Wed Feb 26 02:47:57 EST 2014 Marceli Douglas Grand Junction, CO , US
68126 Mon Feb 24 15:23:08 EST 2014 Denise Soto Hamburg, NJ , US
68125 Sat Feb 08 16:53:32 EST 2014 L. Cummings ON , CA
68124 Fri Feb 07 07:46:03 EST 2014 Dan Stanger Newton, MA , US
68123 Mon Dec 23 15:21:30 EST 2013 Perri Gaffney NY, NY , US
68122 Sun Dec 22 21:45:23 EST 2013 Donna Widmer Shawnee, KS , US
68121 Fri Dec 20 17:02:05 EST 2013 Miguel Abad Cobo Madrid, ot , ES
68120 Thu Dec 19 21:29:19 EST 2013 Anonymous Westlake Village, CA , US
Next ->