Don't Koch the L.A. Times!


After years of mismanagement, the Tribune Company newspapers -- including the Chicago Tribune and L.A. Times -- are up for sale.


And one of the potential buyers? The Koch brothers.
Background:
New York Times: Koch Brothers Turning Focus to Newspapers
Chicago Tribune: Protesters Urge Tribune Co. Not to Sell
Free Press: Tribune Joins Rush to Consolidate with TV Deal

Yes, those Koch brothers: the billionaire businessmen who run Koch Industries, a sprawling multinational corporation involved in everything from oil to fertilizer to paper towels to bankrolling right-wing political causes.

Join RootsAction in sending this message to the Tribune Company:

Don't sell out journalism by selling your papers to the Koch brothers. Threats by staff to quit are probably music to their cost-cutting ears. We need you to stand up for journalism by refusing to sell.
Optional Member Code


This petition has a goal of 80000 signatures
1-25 of 68156 signatures
Number Date Name Location Add a note, if you'd like, ...
68156 Wed Jul 27 01:12:54 EDT 2016 Naheed Choudhry Los Angeles, CA , US
68155 Fri Jun 24 19:07:58 EDT 2016 Carl Silverman Madison, WI , US
68154 Sat Jun 18 11:49:08 EDT 2016 Scott Bakal Raleigh, NC , US
68153 Sat Aug 08 18:17:40 EDT 2015 Anonymous Fort Worth , TX , US
68152 Sun Jul 26 04:07:58 EDT 2015 Christine Kasten Tucson, AZ , US
68151 Thu Jul 02 16:55:38 EDT 2015 Jen Manders Dubuque, IA , US
68150 Mon Jun 08 01:04:17 EDT 2015 Kimberly Stovarsky Fort Worth , TX , US
68149 Tue Mar 31 21:20:57 EDT 2015 Anonymous Chester, VT , US
68148 Tue Mar 24 19:05:33 EDT 2015 Dale Sloat Hopatcong, NJ , US
68147 Tue Mar 24 19:04:29 EDT 2015 Jan Sloat Hopatcong, NJ , US
68146 Mon Mar 09 11:30:45 EDT 2015 Rebecca Campbell Toronto, ON , CA
68145 Mon Feb 09 03:42:20 EST 2015 Kimberly Stovarsky Fort Worth , TX , US
68144 Thu Oct 02 00:43:18 EDT 2014 Lucas Brown Gaylord, MI , US
68143 Mon Sep 29 23:56:38 EDT 2014 Lucas Brown Gaylord, MI , US
68142 Sat Aug 09 08:58:04 EDT 2014 Damien McLeod Key Largo, FL , US
68141 Tue Jul 29 17:59:41 EDT 2014 Dana Dodd Columbus, GA , US
68140 Mon Jul 14 15:52:57 EDT 2014 Rebecca Farmer Berkeley, CA , US
68139 Tue Jul 01 15:41:57 EDT 2014 Kimberly Wyke Camden, ME , US
68138 Sat Jun 14 19:40:43 EDT 2014 Jackie McNeely-Estes Greensboro, NC , US
68137 Wed May 21 05:18:38 EDT 2014 Elizabeth Smith Portland, ME , US Journalism is supposed to be impartial, not politically slanted. From all I've witnessed in the past few years, you brothers are far from that.
68136 Tue May 20 12:27:12 EDT 2014 Michaelj Seamans Bakersfield, CA , US I do not read main stream news anymore. I learned early on in my life how inaccurate and polarized these services can be and will be if left to the control of economic interests. I am interested only in More....
68135 Wed Apr 09 00:32:30 EDT 2014 Perri Gaffney NY, NY , US
68134 Tue Apr 08 11:12:16 EDT 2014 Debra Wells Cleveland, OH , US
68133 Tue Apr 08 11:12:16 EDT 2014 Debra Wells Cleveland, OH , US
68132 Tue Apr 08 01:19:06 EDT 2014 Perri Gaffney NY, NY , US
Next ->