Tell Bayer to stop killing bees

Bayer, the global chemical company, is manufacturing a chemical that new evidence shows is killing off bees.

30% of our crops -- and 90% of wild plants -- rely on bees to thrive.

Bayer has paid for biased research that “proves” its chemical isn’t a problem. But now independent scientists in Europe have discovered that Bayer’s chemical is a high risk to bees.

Bayer makes everything from Alka-Seltzer to Berocca to flea treatments for pets. Bayer knows that it needs to keep its customers happy. If it realizes that its customers are outraged, it will have to pull its bee-poisoning pesticide off the market.

Join RootsAction and SumOfUs in signing this petition to Bayer!

By signing this petition, you will receive updates on this and other campaigns from SumOfUs.org.

Bayer: Withdraw neonicotinoids from the market.
Optional Member Code


This petition has a goal of 50000 signatures
1-25 of 47085 signatures
Number Date Name Location Feel free to include your ...
47085 Fri Nov 07 14:11:03 EST 2014 Anonymous
47084 Fri Oct 17 16:53:37 EDT 2014 Jacqui Harman Grouville, ot , GB
47083 Fri Oct 17 16:50:13 EDT 2014 George Louis st Lawrence, ot , GB
47082 Fri Oct 10 23:37:21 EDT 2014 Anonymous CA , US
47081 Fri Oct 03 14:23:20 EDT 2014 Anonymous Reseda, CA , UM I will boycott your products and will influence others to do the same!
47080 Thu Oct 02 00:31:57 EDT 2014 Lucas Brown Gaylord, MI , US
47079 Thu Oct 02 00:31:24 EDT 2014 Lucas Brown Gaylord, MI , US
47078 Mon Sep 15 15:45:57 EDT 2014 Anonymous
47077 Thu Aug 28 00:15:24 EDT 2014 Bina Israni South San Francisco, CA , US
47076 Tue Aug 26 18:24:20 EDT 2014 Kamala Geer WA , US STOP KILLING BEES
47075 Sat Aug 16 17:47:45 EDT 2014 Kat Owyang CA , US
47074 Fri Aug 15 23:50:28 EDT 2014 Waldir Martins Brasilia, ot , BR
47073 Fri Aug 15 20:00:32 EDT 2014 AnneMarie Call San Jose, CA , US
47072 Sat Aug 09 15:07:30 EDT 2014 Scott Ripley MANSFIELD CENTER, CT , US
47071 Sat Aug 09 09:07:53 EDT 2014 Damien McLeod Key Largo, FL , US
47070 Sat Aug 02 16:39:05 EDT 2014 Susan Brown La Mesa, CA , US
47069 Fri Aug 01 14:01:07 EDT 2014 Anonymous Singapore, SG
47068 Thu Jul 31 19:48:56 EDT 2014 Vanessa Richmond louisville, KY , US
47067 Wed Jul 30 11:01:09 EDT 2014 Meaghan Sharrard US
47066 Tue Jul 29 00:23:24 EDT 2014 Beth Janssen CO , US Listen to the bees and you will hear in their buzz, "if you take us down, we'll take you with us..."
47065 Mon Jul 28 11:57:39 EDT 2014 bounis michael orléans, FR
47064 Wed Jul 23 19:19:52 EDT 2014 Philippe Grandgui FR
47063 Tue Jul 22 12:19:36 EDT 2014 Wilmer Santos Los Angeles, CA , US
47062 Sun Jul 20 06:13:51 EDT 2014 jared lowndes st andrews beach, ot , AU
47061 Mon Jul 14 17:51:17 EDT 2014 Rebecca Farmer Berkeley, CA , US
Next ->


Background:

The dangerous chemical Bayer makes is a neonicotinoid. Neonicotonoids are soaked into seeds, spreading through the plant and killing insects stopping for a snack. These pesticides can easily be replaced by different chemicals that don’t soak so deeply into our crops. But companies like Bayer make a fortune from selling neonicotinoids - so they’ll do everything they can to protect their profit. It’s not just bees that are hurt by these chemicals. Research on rats found that neonicotinoids may also hurt human health, especially the developing brain. But as with the bees, we don’t know as much as we should about the health hazards, because companies like Bayer spend millions on research which muddies the water with biased studies. For Bayer, people’s health plays a distant second to their huge profits.

Wired: Controversial Pesticide Linked to Bee Collapse